Skip Navigation

2016 Winners


After a record number of entries this year, the 2016 'Let's Talk about Drugs' National Youth Media Awards category winners and runners-up have been announced.

The awards ceremony will take place on May 11th 2016 @ 2:15pm in the Department of Education Clock Tower Building, Dublin 1. Eoghan McDermott from RTE will be guest of honour on the day. Category winners will receive an iPad mini and runners up will receive a framed certificate. The overall winner (chosen from category winners) will be announced on the day and will receive a prize of €2,000!

Thanks to everyone for entering. The standard was so high this year that we have decided to also provide a list of 'Honourable Mentions'. These are entries that were not winners or runners-up, but ones we think deserve a mention!


Thanks to the following guest judges: Danielle Flynn (PTSD); Stuart Clarke (Hotpress); Lauren Kelly (Spin 1038) Aoife Ní Shúilleabháin (Union of Students in Ireland); Ruth Armstrong (HSE); Ciaran D’Arcy (Irish Times)

Overall Winner

The Overall Winner was Kells Youthreach, for their entry "Monkey on your back" in the Film/Animation 15-17 Age Category


Age Category Winners, Runners-up & Honourable Mentions

See below for a list of winners, runners-up and honourable mentions!


Video/Animation Category Winners & Runners Up

12-14 Winner: St David's CBS

15-17 Winner: Kells Youthreach

18-21 Winner: John Carney

22-25 Winner: Ed Griffen, Playing House

12-14 Runner Up: St Louis Comprehensive Belfast

15-17 Runner Up: Ben Kavanagh, Barfly

18-21 Runner Up: Karl Caulfield

22-25 Runner Up: Kilbarrack Coast Community Programme

12-14 Video/animation Honourable mention

15-17 Video/animation Honourable Mention

18-21 Video/animation Honourable mention

Audio Category Winners & Runners Up

12-14 Winner Colaiste Eoin Finglas

15-17 Winner Abbie Rea, Loretto College, Cavan 

18-21 Winner R.A.S.P

22-25 Winner Lauren Pidgeon

12-14 Runner Up

15-17 Runner Up

18-21 Runner Up

15-17 Audio Honourable Mention

18-21 Audio Honourable Mention

Article Category Winners & Runners Up

12-14 Winner: Emma Urquhart, Presentation College Athenry

15-17 Winner: Darragh Elbel, Kerry

18-21 Winner: Courtney Smith, Dublin

22-25 Winner: Daniel, Dublin

12-14 Runner Up: Hanna O Donovan, St Marys Macroom Secondary School Cork

15-17 Runner Up: Elle Loughran, Louth

18-21 Runner Up: Mary Katherine Clancy, Clare

22-25 Runner Up: Seán O’Reilly, Dublin

15-17 Article Honourable Mention

Poster Winners & Runners Up

12-14 Winner: Emily McAlinden, The Teresian School Dublin

15-17 Winner: Lena Boettcher, Mercy Secondary School Tuam

18-21 Winner: Miray Unal, Sligo

22-25 Winner: Alison Cahill, Laois


12-14 Runner Up: Ciara Walsh, Tarbert Comprehensive, Co. Kerry


15-17 Runner Up: Pedro Navarro & Oscar Lopez, Ballymahon Mercy Secondary School, Co. Longford

18-21 Runner Up: Lorna Tummon, Galway

22-25 Runner Up: Aaron Kelly, Dublin

12-14 Poster Honourable Mention

15-17 Poster Honourable Mention

18-21 PosterHonourable Mention

22-25 Poster Honourable Mention


Share this:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • LinkedIn
  • E-mail
The HSE and Union of Students in Ireland (USI) ask students to think about drug safety measures when using club drugs
Harm reduction messages from the #SaferStudentNights campaign.
Poll Poll

Have you ever been impacted negatively by someone else's drug taking?