Skip Navigation

2013 Winners

The winners of the Let's Talk About Drugs Media Awards 2013 were announced at an awards ceremony in the Ashling Hotel in Dublin on the 25th of September 2013.

The awards were created to encourage the journalists, reporters, film enthusiasts and animators of tomorrow to start writing and talking about the drugs and alcohol issue in Ireland today.

Presenting the awards, Alex White, T.D., Minister of State with responsibility for the National Drugs Strategy commented:

"Targeting young people with prevention in mind is one of the most important things we can do and that’s why I’m delighted to be involved in the “Let’s Talk About Drugs” National Media Awards ceremony today. It’s great to see drugs and alcohol issues being debated in such a creative way.”

Newspaper Article Winners

Newspaper 12-14 Category
Winner: Darragh Elbel
Download article

Newspaper 15-17 Category
Winner: Alice Kearns
Download article

Newspaper 18-20 Category
Winner: Aaron Elbel
Download article

Newspaper 21+ Category
Winner: Clare O'Beara
Download article


Audio Winners

Audio 12-14 Category
Winner:Sean Downey


Audio 15-17 Category
Winner: Michael Dwyer

Audio 21+ Category
Winner: Denise Woods

Poster Winners

Winner: Edge YDP

Runners up: Alyzza Marie Rodriguez; Vaida Balbieruite

Cartoon Winners

Cartoon 15-17 Category
Winner: Lauren Vickers
Runner Up: Aislinn Fox

Cartoon 18-20 Category
Winner: Catherine Noonan
Runner-Up: Jamie Barnes

Spirit Award

Joint Winners: Sacred heart of Jesus National School & St. Ciaran's National School

Share this:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • LinkedIn
  • E-mail
The HSE and Union of Students in Ireland (USI) ask students to think about drug safety measures when using club drugs
Harm reduction messages from the #SaferStudentNights campaign.
Poll Poll

Have you ever been impacted negatively by someone else's drug taking?